donatebuttonfinal 200x60


facebook twitter
youtube linkedin

English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

California EPR Legislative History 

AB 2398, Perez – Producer Responsibility for Carpet 2010

CPSC was very active with the Speaker's office in the development, passage and implementation of this legislation, the first of its kind in the world. This legislation required the producers of carpet to submit a carpet stewardship plan to CalRecycle, which would be required to include specified elements including a funding mechanism that provides sufficient funding to carry out the plan, including administrative, operational, and capital costs of the plan.

AB 2398 Fact Sheet

AB 1343, Huffman – Architectural Paint Stewardship 2010

This bill was based on work done by the national Paint Product Stewardship Initiative coordinated by the Product Stewardship Institute, which was co-managed by Heidi Sanborn of CPSC from 2003-2006, and work done by San Joaquin County CalRecycle grant which CPSC was the primary contractor establishing retail paint collection in three counties from 2007-2010. AB 1343 creates a producer managed post-consumer paint recovery program. It requires architectural paint manufacturers to develop and implement a stewardship plan to reduce the generation of post-consumer paint, promote the reuse, and manage the end-of-life post-consumer paint in an environmentally sound manner.

AB 1343 Fact Sheet

jarred huffman leg leadership award
CPSC Board Member Patty Garbarino awarding Assemblymember Jared Huffman
with the Legislative Leadership Award for producer responsibility.


SB 346, Kehoe - Brake Pad Partnership 2010

CPSC played a supporting role to the water quality associations lead on this EPR transitional legislation. SB 346 phased copper out of brake pads sold in California. It was a negotiated agreement with the producers to stop copper pollution at the source. This measure was the only feasible way to reduce the single most significant source of copper in urban watersheds, which kills marine organisms and fatally impairs the viability of salmon and other fish, frustrating State, regional and local government efforts to meet our water quality objectives in the Bay Area and Southern California.

SB 346 Fact Sheet

christine kehoe legislative leadership award brake pads
Pictured: Sen. Christine Kehoe receiving CPSC's 2011 Legislative Leadership Award and
Heidi Sanborn, CPSC Executive Director
Photo credit: Rajesh Lathigara
 2011 Legislative Leadership Award, California State Senator Christine Kehoe
Video credit: Green Technology Smart Media


AB 1879, Feuer & Huffman - Green Chemistry Program 2008

CPSC worked alongside many environmental groups and others to pass AB 1879. The bill required the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) under the Green Chemistry Initiative to adopt, by January 1, 2011, regulations to establish a process by which chemicals or chemical ingredients in products may be identified and prioritized for consideration as being chemicals of concern. CPSC continues to work to get the regulations adopted which will require producer responsibility and take-back for problematic products.

AB 2347, Ruskin - Recycling Mercury Thermostats 2008

CPSC was invited by Sierra Club California to co-sponsor this bill. AB 2347 established a shared responsibility program for the recycling of mercury thermostats and relieved pressure on cash-strapped local governments. This bill took a producer responsibility approach for establishing effective mercury recycling collection programs, allowing Californians to return waste thermostats to retail locations that sell new ones, establishing convenient collection sites for contractors, and requiring companies that produce thermostats to fund the recycling program.

AB 2347 Fact Sheet

ira ruskin leg leadership award tstats
Pictured: Assemblymember Ira Ruskin receiving CPSC's 2008 Legislative Leadership Award;
Rob D'Arcy, former CPSC Board Chair