

May 27, 2022

The Honorable Ben Allen, Chair Senate Committee on Environmental Quality 1021 O Street, Suite 3230 Sacramento, CA 95814

Subject: AB 2208 (Kalra & Becker): Mercury Lamp Pollution Prevention Act – SUPPORT

Dear Chair Allen,

We, the undersigned, write to document our support for AB 2208 (Kalra), the Mercury Lamp Pollution Prevention Act, as amended May 25, 2022, which would phase out the sale of compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs) and linear fluorescent lamps (LFLs) used for general lighting applications in California.

We support AB 2208 because:

- 1. Mercury-free alternatives are readily available, making the sale of CFLS and LFLs unnecessary: Mercury and its compounds are highly toxic to humans and the World Health Organization puts mercury in the top ten most problematic chemicals for public health. Much more energy-efficient, mercury-free light emitting diode (LED) technology can easily and affordably replace fluorescent lamps and are readily available.
- 2. **LED alternatives are better for the environment**: LED replacements for fluorescent lamps do not contain any mercury, use approximately half the electricity as fluorescents to produce the same amount of light, and last 2-3 times longer.
- 3. It will save Californians money: According to estimates from the Appliance Standards Awareness Project (ASAP), by 2030 California residential, commercial, and industrial consumers would save about \$1 billion annually on their utility bills by transitioning from the most common fluorescent lamps to LEDs.

AB 2208 would not only help protect Californians from the unnecessary threat of mercury exposure from fluorescent lamps, but it is also an important climate protection initiative that

would accelerate the transition to a low-carbon economy through increased use of energyefficient LED lighting solutions.

For these reasons, we strongly support AB 2208 and urge your "Aye" vote when it is heard in the Senate Environmental Quality Committee.

Sincerely,

Jordan Wells

Jordan Wells, Director of Advocacy and Communications National Stewardship Action Council

Peter Miller, Director, Western Region, Climate and Clean Energy Program Natural Resources Defense Council

Brill allayand

Bill Allayaud, CA Director of Governmental Affairs Environmental Working Group

Andria Ventura

Andria Ventura, Legislative & Policy Director Clean Water Action

Joanie Stenhan

Joanie Steinhaus, Gulf Program Director Turtle Island Restoration Network

Shira Lane, Founder & CEO Atrium

Michael Sur

Michael Gross, Director of Sustainability GreenWaste

(m_

Paul Gao, President California Electronic Asset Recovery CEAR Renúc Insup

Renee Sharp, Strategic Advisor Safer States

Davit

David Diaz, Executive Director Active San Gabriel Valley

Larry Klein

Larry Klein, Mayor City of Sunnyvale

Nucle Sasaki Sta

Nicole Sasaki, Staff Attorney San Francisco Baykeeper

Leslie Lukas, Executive Director Zero Waste Sonoma

Jelle

Joe La Mariana, Executive Director RethinkWaste

HF.

Pheng Lor, Education and Engagement Program Manager Ecology Center

n. Japis

Nick Lapis, Director of Advocacy Californians Against Waste

TB

Daniel Barad, Senior Policy Advocate Sierra Club California

LIT am

Leslie Tamminen, Legal Director 7th Generation Advisors

Kathup alcanta

Kathryn Alcantar, Interim Policy Director Center for Environmental Health

alicia Culver

Alicia Culver, Executive Director Responsible Purchasing Network

Richard Valle, President/CEO Tri-CED Community Recycling

Shell Cleave

Shell Cleave, Founder Sea Hugger

Sam Perse, Campaign Manager The Story of Stuff Project

JAL.

Doug Kobold, Executive Director California Product Stewardship Council

Jame helmul

Jamie McConnell, Deputy Director Women's Voices for the Earth

Katherine Carolin

Katherine Carvlin, Executive Director National Association of Environmental Medicine

Mat J. Mill

Martin Mulvihill, Managing Partner Safer Made

Juin Lendburg

Jim Lindburg, Legislative Consultant Friends Committee on Legislation of California

ArloneBlum

Arlene Blum, Ph.D., Founder and Executive Director Green Science Policy Institute

Chuck Herset

Chuck Helget, Director of Government Affairs Republic Services

Suna Bupahal

Suna Bayrakal, Director of Policy & Programs Product Stewardship Institute

Froma Sharing

Fiona Zhang, VP of Operations SOLTECH, LLC

Gina Lee, VP American Illumination, Inc.

Michael Benden

Michael Bender, Executive Director Mercury Policy Project

Morian Falis

Brian Fadie, State Policy Associate Appliance Standards Awareness Project

Seyth

Amy Ziff, Founder & Executive Director Made Safe Non-Toxic

Kathy atter

Kathy Attar, Program Manager Eco-Healthy Child Care

Shuth. Com

Shane Gusman, Legislative Director California Teamsters Public Affairs Council

Algundos augur

Alex Oseguera, Director of Government Affairs Waste Management

Hamo

Laura McKaughan, President California Resource Recovery Association

Hanht

Hannah Blair, Senior Associate CLASP

Kevin REell

Kevin Bell, P.E., Deputy Executive Director Western Placer Waste Management Authority

Time they Durlaughy

Timothy Burroughs, Executive Director StopWaste

anothing

Chris Hanson, Chair SWANA California Chapter's Legislative Task Force

Mit O. Bank

William O. Busath, Director of Utilities City of Sacramento

Bill Magaven

Bill Magavern, Policy Director Coalition for Clean Air

Haren Kasanjian

Garen Kazanjian, Public Policy and Regulatory Affairs Manager Recology

Tyrone Jue, Acting Director San Francisco Department of the Environment