

May 22, 2023

The Honorable Toni G. Atkins Senate President pro Tempore, California State Senate

Submitted via Position Letter Portal

## RE: SB 707 (Newman) – Responsible Textile Recovery Act of 2023 – SUPPORT

Dear Senator Atkins,

On behalf of the undersigned organizations, we support SB 707: Responsible Textile Recovery Act of 2023, to establish a comprehensive textile EPR program to establish local collection infrastructure.

Textiles are the fifth most common material and the fastest growing category in residential and commercial waste streams in California. Textile and clothing producers over-produce hard-to-

manage materials that can absorb, tangle, and combust if mixed into plastic recycling system. The cost burden for managing unusable textiles has fallen on thrifts, collectors, and secondhand markets, while producers keep making products with no plan for what to do with them when they are no longer wearable. For too long, textiles collected under the guise of recycling ended up in markets with less infrastructure and environmental protections. Industry efforts to increase textile reuse, repair, and recycling options have proven siloed and lacking transparency.

California has a long history of learned experiences with EPR and an opportunity to make a global impact by establishing a first-of-its kind EPR program for textiles that builds on the precedent set in the state by other EPR programs. There is currently only one textile EPR program that exists in the entire world. It's up to California, a top global waste generator, to take impactful actions to address textile waste and set the stage as a center for sustainable fashion.

For these reasons, we support SB 707 and appreciate your leadership on this critical issue.

Sincerely,

Doug Kobold, Executive Director California Product Stewardship Council

Connie Ulasewicz, Founder & President CBU Productions

Jordan Wells, Director of Advocacy & Communications

jordan Wells

Melina

M. Japis

National Stewardship Action Council

Melissa Romero, Senior Legislative Manager

California Environmental Voters

Nick Lapis, Director of Advocacy Californians Against Waste Krythe Mord Word

Krystle Moody Wood, Founder Materevolve

Zahlen Titcomb, CEO Ravel

Peter Majeranowski, President Circ, Inc.

Bill allayand

Bill Allayaud, California Director of Government Affairs

**Environmental Working Group** 

Nikki Eclarinal, Policy Manager

Fashion Revolution USA

Jarah Kalowing

Sarah Koplowicz, Consultant R3 Consulting Group, Inc.

Now Zee Sayly

Nora L. Scully, Innovation Designer ScullySpark

Laura McKaughans, President CRRA

Eric Oddo, PE, Program Manager Western Placer Waste Management Authority

Shell Cleave, Founder Sea Hugger

Susy Borlido, Co-Executive Director Sustainable Works

Lynda Koskela , Executive Director Repeat Reuse Inc.

Anupama Pasricha

Anupama Pasricha, Department Chair St. Catherine University

Karla Magruder, President & Founder Accelerating Circularity

Lesei Rot

Leslie Robinson, Program Manager Santa Barbara County Resource Recovery & Waste Management Division

Colene McBeth, Director Cirtex

Jillian Clark, Founder & CEO Roboro

Leslie Lukacs, Executive Director Zero Waste Sonoma

Jim Lindburg, Legislative Consultant Friends Committee on Legislation of California

Sofia Ratcovich, CEO Zero Waste Company Je E Mune

Joe La Mariana, Executive Director ReThink Waste

R. Patrick Mathews, General Manager/CAO Salinas Valley Recycles

Kerrie Romanow, Director of Environmental Services City of San Jose

Bob Sly, Media Director Zero Waste San Diego

Michael Caprio, Director Government Affairs

Republic Services

Franco Rossi, President AQUAFIL

Bruce Houdesheldt, Mayor City of Roseville

Alison Waliszewski, Policy Director 5 Gyres Institute

Shay Sethi, CEO

Ambercycle

Constanza Gomez, CEO Sortile

Takent ton

Sakereh Carter, Senior Policy Advocate Sierra Club CA

Kathryn Pisano, Environmental Services Manager

Santa Clara County Recycling and Waste Reduction Commission

Jessica Robinson

Jessica Robinson, President Northern California Recycling Association

Onily Parker

Emily Parker, Coastal and Marine Scientist Heal the Bay

Dianna Cohen, Co-Founder & CEO Plastic Pollution Coalition

Mati Waiya, Executive Director Wishtoyo Chumash Foundation

Mate Waige

## Roland Williams

Roland P. Williams, Jr., General Manager Castro Valley Sanitary District (CVSan)

Christopher Chin, Executive Director The Center for Oceanic Awareness, Research, and Education (COARE)

Jenn Engstrom, State Director California Public Interest Research Group (CALPIRG)

Liz Bordessa, Co-Founder Upcycle it Now

Urska Trunk, Campaign Manager Changing Markets Foundation

Scott Cassell, CEO and Founder Product Stewardship Institute

A cott Cassel

Heather Podoll, Partnership and Advocacy Coordinator Fibershed

Vicki Patterson, President Stand Up To Trash Leslie Mintz Tamminen, Director Seventh Generation Advisors

Ruth Abbe, President Zero Waste USA

Jula Andulu.

Julie Andersen, Global Executive Director Plastic Oceans International

Kathleen Talbot, Chief Sustainability Officer & Vice President of Operations Reformation

LeVonne Stone, Co-Founder and Executive Director

Fort Ord Environmental Justice Network

Kim Suarez, Raw Materials Specialist Marmot

Larry Klein, Mayor City of Sunnyvale

Dana Davis, Vice President of Sustainability Mara Hoffman Inc.

E. Refecca Sallard
Rebecca Ballard, Executive Director
The Fashion Connection



Laura Ferrante, Governmental Affairs Advocate Resource Recovery Coalition of California

Martin Stenfors, COO Renewcell AB

Juanyae "Jae" Allen, Founder & CEO Ouros Industries

Mattias Wallander, CEO USAgain

Vince De Lange, General Manger Delta Diablo

Madika Son

Mallika Sen, Director of Environmental Solutions

Solana Center for Environmental Innovation

David Stitzhal, President Full Circle Environmental, Inc.

David Stitzhol

Katina Boutis, Director of Sustainability Everlane

John Dia

John Davis, Administrator Mojave Desert and Mountain Recycling Authority

Mary Price

Mary Price, Owner Ocean+Main

Deborah D. P. Keiser, Chief Operating Officer BOARDRIDER

Lynn Wagner, Founder Luna Lab

Lyn Wagne

Tracy Adams, CEO GreenWaste